North by Northwestern

North by Northwestern

Author: Sig Hansen

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

ISBN: 0312591144

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 737

Download Now →

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen’s rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family’s struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream Sig Hansen has been a star of the Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch from the pilot to the present. Seen in over 150 countries, the show attracts more than 49 million viewers per season, making it one of the most successful series in the history of cable TV. With its daredevil camera work, unpredictably dangerous weather, and a setting as unforgivable and unforgettable as the frigid Bering Sea, The Deadliest Catch is unlike anything else on television. But the weatherworn fishermen of the fishing vessel Northwestern have stories that don’t come through on TV. For Sig Hansen and his brothers, commercial fishing is as much a part of their Norwegian heritage as their names. Descendants of the Vikings who roamed and ruled the northern seas for centuries, the Hansens’ connection to the sea stretches from Alaska to Seattle and all the way to Norway. And after twenty years as a skipper on the commercial fishing vessel the Northwestern--which was his father’s before him--Sig has lived to tell the tales. To be a successful fisherman, you need to be a mechanic, navigator, welder, painter, carpenter, and sometimes, a firefighter. To be a successful fisherman year after year, you need to be a survivor. This is the story of a family of survivors; part memoir and part adventure tale, North by Northwestern brings readers on deck, into the dockside bars and into the history of a family with a common destiny. Built around a gripping tale of a deadly shipwreck like The Perfect Storm, North By Northwestern is the multi-generational tale of the Hansen family, a clan of tough Norwegian-American fishermen who, through the popularity of The Deadliest Catch, have become modern folk-heroes.
North by Northwestern
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Sig Hansen, Mark Sundeen
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-03-30 - Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen’s rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family’s struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream Sig Hansen has been a star of the Discovery
North by Northwestern
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Sig Hansen, Mark Sundeen
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-03-30 - Publisher: Macmillan

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! In the tradition of Sebastian Junger and Linda Greenlaw comes Captain Sig Hansen's rags-to-riches epic of his immigrant family's struggle against deadly Alaskan seas, freezing shipwrecks, and dangerously brutal conditions to achieve the American Dream Sig Hansen has been a star of the Discovery
Making Seafood Sustainable
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Mansel G. Blackford
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-12-30 - Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

In the spring of 2007, National Geographic warned, "The oceans are in deep blue trouble. From the northernmost reaches of the Greenland Sea to the swirl of the Antarctic Circle, we are gutting our seas of fish." There were legitimate grounds for concern. After increasing more than fourfold between 1950
Journalism of Ideas
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: Daniel Reimold
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-26 - Publisher: Routledge

Journalism of Ideas is a comprehensive field guide for brainstorming, discovering, reporting, digitizing, and pitching news, opinion, and feature stories within journalism 2.0. With on-the-job advice from professional journalists, activities to sharpen your multimedia reporting skills, and dozens of story ideas ripe for adaptation, Dan Reimold helps you develop the
Flashpoints for Asian American Studies
Language: en
Pages: 328
Authors: Cathy Schlund-Vials
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-03 - Publisher: Fordham Univ Press

Emerging from mid-century social movements, Civil Rights Era formations, and anti-war protests, Asian American studies is now an established field of transnational inquiry, diasporic engagement, and rights activism. These histories and origin points analogously serve as initial moorings for Flashpoints for Asian American Studies, a collection that considers–almost fifty years