Stay in Your Own Back Yard

Stay in Your Own Back Yard

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755391974

Category: Fiction

Page: 327

View: 706

Download Now →

Two families are united in love and friendship, yet will ambition threaten their future happiness? Joan Jonker introduces Nellie McDonough and Molly Bennett, two of her most popular characters, for the first time in this heart-warming Liverpool saga, Stay in Your Own Back Yard. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Newberry. In her terraced house in Liverpool, Molly Bennett struggles to bring up four children on her husband's meagre wage. But Molly doesn't complain; she has an abundance of things money can't buy - and a home filled with love and laughter. When her eldest daughter, Jill, is offered a place at high school, Molly is racked with guilt. She needs Jill working to relieve their poverty. But Jill eases Molly's conscience by getting herself a job in a baker's shop while signing up for night school. Molly's best mate is Nellie McDonough; they spend hours laughing, gossiping and lending a helping hand to others. And when they discover one of their neighbours is being beaten by her violent husband, the friends roll up their sleeves and take action. Meanwhile, Jill starts dating Nellie's son, Steve, and both families are delighted. But Jill lands herself an office job that takes her into a world beyond the confines of their close-knit community and she and Steve seem to be drifting apart... What readers are saying about Stay in Your Own Back Yard: 'If you want a feel good factor book then get in your comfy chair and snuggle up. Joan Jonker will make you laugh, and she will make you cry. But she will leave you wanting more and more of her books' 'Great story and characters. A funny, friendly and lovely family story. You are carried away and become part of the family'
Stay in Your Own Back Yard
Language: en
Pages: 327
Authors: Joan Jonker
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-06-24 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Two families are united in love and friendship, yet will ambition threaten their future happiness? Joan Jonker introduces Nellie McDonough and Molly Bennett, two of her most popular characters, for the first time in this heart-warming Liverpool saga, Stay in Your Own Back Yard. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn
Beyond Your Backyard
Language: en
Pages: 139
Authors: Tom Ellsworth
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008 - Publisher: Standard Publishing

This rhythmic and engaging picture book, spun from a popular children's classic, sets in motion an array of activity with neighbors of all ages and sizes coming together to help out the “grandma with silver hair who rocks all day in her rocking chair…at the house in the middle of
Our Gang
Language: en
Pages: 328
Authors: Julia Lee
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-12-29 - Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

It was the age of Jim Crow, riddled with racial violence and unrest. But in the world of Our Gang, black and white children happily played and made mischief together. They even had their own black and white version of the KKK, the Cluck Cluck Klams—and the public loved it.
Lost in My Own Backyard
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Tim Cahill
Categories: Travel
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-06-08 - Publisher: Crown

“Let’s get lost together . . . ” Lost in My Own Backyard brings acclaimed author Tim Cahill together with one of his—and America’s—favorite destinations: Yellowstone, the world’s first national park. Cahill has been “puttering around in the park” for a quarter of a century, slowly covering its vast scope
How to Do Ministry in Your Own Backyard
Language: en
Pages: 142
Authors: Elizabeth A. O’Neill
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-02 - Publisher: WestBow Press

We are all called; but few are chosen. Listen and let God lead you in the way you should serve him. Are you ready to jump in and start serving God but do not know where to begin? God has a plan for you here on earth no matter where