The Alchemist's Door

The Alchemist's Door

Author: Lisa Goldstein

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN: 1429974346

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 450

Download Now →

Scientist, mathematician, and court astrologer to Queen Elizabeth I, John Dee is also one of the sixteenth-century's most renowned alchemists, driven by a passion to fathom the elemental secrets of the cosmos. But when his reckless assistant, Edward Kelley, succeeds in using a crystal sphere to summon angels, Dee is catapulted into an awesome struggle that may extinguish the light of reason forever. One of the spirits invoked is a cunning demon who takes possession of Dee's young daughter, Katherine, and shows Dee a frightening vision of his own future. Terrified by what has been foretold, Dee abruptly decides to close his house in London and flee to Europe with his long-suffering wife, Jane, and their two young children. Their desperate flight brings them at last to the city of Prague--a center of culture, knowledge, and learning, both sacred and profane, a gateway between the Eastern and Western worlds, and also, it is whispered, a door between our world and the world of the spirits. There, in the city's ancient streets, Dee encounters the mystic Rabbi Judah Loew, who enlists his aid in the creation of a Golem--a man fashioned from the clay--to defend the city's Jewish Quarter from persecution. And he asks Dee's help to avert a impending crisis that threatens to engulf the world. For ancient legends say that the fate of the world rests on shoulders of thirty-six righteous men. And if one of those righteous men dies before his time, the world will end and dark spirits will remake it in their own image. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
The Alchemist's Door
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Lisa Goldstein
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-04-01 - Publisher: Tor Books

Scientist, mathematician, and court astrologer to Queen Elizabeth I, John Dee is also one of the sixteenth-century's most renowned alchemists, driven by a passion to fathom the elemental secrets of the cosmos. But when his reckless assistant, Edward Kelley, succeeds in using a crystal sphere to summon angels, Dee is
The Alchemist's Code
Language: en
Pages: 339
Authors: Martin Rua
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-01 - Publisher: Head of Zeus

The first in a gripping conspiracy thriller series for fans of Scott Mariani and Dan Brown. A dark figure. A secret code. A battle between good and evil... Years ago the Knights Templar developed a secret code. A code so secret that only one man could remember it. The code
Amy Alice and the Alchemists
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Paul Dowell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-01 - Publisher: Lulu.com

"Doppleganger! What's a Doppleganger?" Amy asked her granddad as she watched the liquid in the bottle change colour. "A Doppleganger was a magical creature which could change shape and become whatever it wished." he told her. Amy couldn't believe that granddad was secretly an Alchemist and could make magic potions,
Corpse Cold
Language: en
Pages: 426
Authors: Allan Batchelder
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-12-15 - Publisher: Crossroad Press

Betrayed by his closest friend, someone who has also stolen his most precious possession, Tarmun Vykers wants revenge. Kittins wants revenge, too, against the all-powerful Queen, who’s been manipulating and dictating his every move for far too long, to devastating effect. Long Pete wants revenge against the slavers who murdered
Lippincott's Monthly Magazine, a Popular Journal of General Literature
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Allan Batchelder
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1887 - Publisher:

Books about Lippincott's Monthly Magazine, a Popular Journal of General Literature