Yeah, No. Not Happening.

Yeah, No. Not Happening.

Author: Karen Karbo

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062945563

Category: Self-Help

Page: 240

View: 775

Download Now →

The author of the acclaimed, bestselling In Praise of Difficult Women delivers a hilarious feminist manifesto that encourages us to reject “self-improvement” and instead learn to appreciate and flaunt our complex, and flawed, human selves. Why are we so obsessed with being our so-called best selves? Because our modern culture force feeds women lies designed to heighten their insecurities: “You can do it all—crush it at work, at home, in the bedroom, at PTA and at Pilates—and because you can, you should. We can show you how!” Karen Karbo has had enough. She’s taking a stand against the cultural and societal pressures, marketing, and media influences that push us to spend endless time, energy and money trying to “fix” ourselves—a race that has no finish line and only further increases our send of self-dissatisfaction and loathing. “Yeah, no, not happening,” is her battle cry. In this wickedly smart and entertaining book, Karbo explores how “self-improvery” evolved from the provenance of men to women. Recast as “consumers” in the 1920s, women, it turned out, could be seduced into buying anything that might improve not just their lives, but their sense of self-worth. Today, we smirk at Mad Men-era ads targeting 1950s housewives—even while savvy marketers, aided and abetted by social media “influencers,” peddle skin care “systems,” skinny tea, and regimens that promise to deliver endless happiness. We’re not simply seduced into dropping precious disposable income on empty promises; the underlying message is that we can’t possibly know what’s good for us, what we want, or who we should be. Calling BS, Karbo blows the lid off of this age-old trend and asks women to start embracing their awesomely imperfect selves. There is no one more dangerous than a woman who doesn’t care what anyone thinks of her. Yeah, No, Not Happening is a call to arms to build a posse of dangerous women who swear off self-improvement and its peddlers. A welcome corrective to our inner-critic, Karbo’s manifesto will help women restore their sanity and reclaim their self-worth.
Yeah, No. Not Happening.
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Karen Karbo
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-05-19 - Publisher: HarperCollins

The author of the acclaimed, bestselling In Praise of Difficult Women delivers a hilarious feminist manifesto that encourages us to reject “self-improvement” and instead learn to appreciate and flaunt our complex, and flawed, human selves. Why are we so obsessed with being our so-called best selves? Because our modern culture
Yeah, No. Not Happening
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Karen Karbo
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-04-20 - Publisher: Harper Wave

The author of the acclaimed, bestselling In Praise of Difficult Women delivers a hilarious feminist manifesto that encourages us to reject "self-improvement" and instead learn to appreciate and flaunt our complex, and flawed, human selves. Why are we so obsessed with being our so-called best selves? Because our modern culture
Real Simple Simplify Your Life
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Real Simple
Categories: House & Home
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-20 - Publisher: Time Home Entertainment

REAL SIMPLE Simplify Your Life will teach you how to master the little things in your life, make the most of your time, learn how to let go, and so much more. Over three chapters, titled "Essential Joy," "A Streamlined Space," and "Me Time Made Simple," you will learn that
Here Comes Trouble
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Kate Hattemer
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-05-01 - Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

The hilarious story of a wannabe-reformed-prankster perfect for readers who loved Dead End in Norvelt and Better Nate Than Never. Soren Skaar is a notorious prankster. After his partner-in-pranking-crime moves away, Soren's ready to leave his life of causing trouble behind. But when his hipster Brooklynite cousin comes to "study
Grave Visions
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Kalayna Price
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-25 - Publisher: Penguin UK

The fourth book in the Alex Craft urban fantasy series about a Grave Witch who can talk to the dead. Perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Cassandra Clare. If you want to hear voices from the dead in Nekros City, you call Alex Craft. She's a Grave Witch with